Vanderburgh County, IN Food Facility Permits & Fees
Restaurants and food trucks.
Vanderburgh County Health Department (VCHD), Environmental Division. Food permit fees set by county ordinance (Vanderburgh County Code Ch. 2.41, Board of Health Food Permits). 420 Mulberry St, Evansville, IN 47713; (812) 435-2400. · department site →
Fees change often — always confirm the current amount with the department before you budget.
Vanderburgh County food-facility health permits run about $100–$500 annually, depending on size or sales volume. Confirm the exact amount with Vanderburgh County Health Department (VCHD), Environmental Division. Food permit fees set by county ordinance (Vanderburgh County Code Ch. 2.41, Board of Health Food Permits). 420 Mulberry St, Evansville, IN 47713; (812) 435-2400. before you budget.
Confirm the authority for your exact address. Some cities run their own health division, and building, planning, fire, sewer/grease and business-license approvals are separate even when Vanderburgh County Health Department (VCHD), Environmental Division. Food permit fees set by county ordinance (Vanderburgh County Code Ch. 2.41, Board of Health Food Permits). 420 Mulberry St, Evansville, IN 47713; (812) 435-2400. issues the health permit.
About 453 food & drinking establishments operate here, serving a population of about 179,810. (U.S. Census 2023 estimate; County Business Patterns 2022, NAICS 722)
Last verified: 2026-08-17 — we re-confirmed the serving authority, its contact, and that the fees below match the current published schedule. Fee schedules may carry an earlier effective date (shown per fee); local ordinances & amendments aren’t individually reviewed, so confirm current rules with the authority having jurisdiction.See something out of date? Report an update →
Restaurant / food-facility permit
Food Service Establishment food permit (annual, tiered by number of employees)
Per Ch; 2.41 (rates escalate by year; 2026 shown first, then 2027):
1-10 employees $125.00 (2027 $150.00)
11-25 employees $175.00 (2027 $200.00)
26-50 employees $300.00 (2027 $400.00)
51+ employees $400.00 (2027 $500.00)
(Original 2025 base rates were $100 / $150 / $200 / $250.)
Vanderburgh County codifies a multi-year fee step-up in ordinance Ch; 2.41. 2026 figures shown as current (observed 2026-08-07); confirm against VCHD's current-year application
Plan review — required
Vanderburgh County food permit ordinance (Ch
2.41) does not specify a plan review fee, and VCHD does not publish a separate plan-review fee amount online
Plan review is conducted for new/remodeled establishments per Indiana rule
Fees/payment and forms are on the department site; application steps vary by concept — see the checklist below.
How Vanderburgh County’s permit cost compares
At about $100/year, Vanderburgh County’s restaurant health permit is about the Indiana median ($100) and below the U.S. median ($125) — higher than about 45% of U.S. counties.
Ranked 31st-lowest of 63 Indiana counties by permit cost.
Comparison uses the lowest published annual restaurant-permit figure in each county; confirm your exact tier with the department.
Local food-service market
About 453 food & drinking establishments serve ~179,810 residents in Vanderburgh County — one per ~397 residents, denser than the Indiana average (one per ~577).
U.S. Census 2023 population; County Business Patterns 2022 (NAICS 722).
Budget the permit stack
Start with ~$100 annual health permit.
Plus building, fire, and business-license fees that vary locally — use the cost calculators and the checklist below to budget the full stack.
Watch out for
Grocery/markets are licensed separately as 'Food Market Establishments' by square footage (2026): under 3,000 sq ft $200.00; 3,000-6,000 $300.00; 6,001-10,000 $400.00; 10,001+ $500.00 (2027 rates $300/$400/$500/$600)
Temporary food service $10.00 per day, maximum $30.00 for three or more days
Vending machines $5.00 per machine
All fees are set by county ordinance (Ch; 2.41) rather than a downloadable fee schedule
Other food-service permits in this jurisdiction
Category
Annual fee
Notes
Grocery / market with deli
Food Market Establishment (annual, by square footage; 2026 / 2027): under 3,000 sq ft $200.00 / $300.00; 3,000-6,000 sq ft $300.00 / $400.00; 6,001-10,000 sq ft $400.00 / $500.00; 10,001+ sq ft $500.00 / $600.00 (2025 base was $100/$150/$200/$250)
Set by Vanderburgh County Code Ch; 2.41
Temporary / seasonal event
$10.00 per day, maximum $30.00 for three or more days
Per Ch; 2.41
Pushcart / mobile vending
Mobile Food Service $100.00 per year ($75.00 if issued after June 30); Vending machines $5.00 per machine
Per Ch; 2.41; Mobile Food Unit Information Packet (Appendices C and D) required before applying
Equipment your Vanderburgh County plan review will check
Health-department plan review looks for specific, code-compliant fixtures. Compare spec-filtered options, then confirm counts and sizes with your local requirements. See the full list in what equipment a commercial kitchen requires.
Per Ch; 2.41 (rates escalate by year; 2026 shown first, then 2027): 1-10 employees $125.00 (2027 $150.00); 11-25 employees $175.00 (2027 $200.00); 26-50 employees $300.00 (2027 $400.00); 51+ employees $400.00 (2027 $500.00); (Original 2025 base rates were $100 / $150 / $200 / $250.) These are annual health-permit fees, usually tiered by seating or size; confirm your exact category with the department.
Is plan review required in Vanderburgh County?
Yes — plan review is required before you build or remodel a food facility. Typical fees: Vanderburgh County food permit ordinance (Ch; 2.41) does not specify a plan review fee, and VCHD does not publish a separate plan-review fee amount online; Plan review is conducted for new/remodeled establishments per Indiana rule
Do I need a commissary for a food truck in Vanderburgh County?
In most cases, yes — most mobile units must operate from an approved commissary; confirm exemptions with the department. Applicants must review the Mobile Food Unit Information Packet and submit Appendices C and D before applying
Who issues food permits in Vanderburgh County?
Food permits here are issued by Vanderburgh County Health Department (VCHD), Environmental Division. Food permit fees set by county ordinance (Vanderburgh County Code Ch. 2.41, Board of Health Food Permits). 420 Mulberry St, Evansville, IN 47713; (812) 435-2400.. See the department site for current details.
Are city building and fire approvals separate?
Yes — building, plumbing, mechanical and fire approvals are always separate from the health permit and are often handled by different offices.
Published by Resultex Media Group LLC · Independent & vendor-neutral · Educational only, not legal or engineering advice · Last verified September 2026